Home > Events > Lokmat Connect > Goan of the Year

Goan of the Year

Started in 2016, Goan of The Year is an annual event, wherein eminent Goans and renowned institutions contributing to the different walks of life are felicitated with a memorabilia.

The awards are given across categories like Agriculture, Art and Culture, Business, Education, Literature, Influential Young Politics, Government Officer, Self Help groups

Lokmat, Maharashtra’s and Goa’s Number 1 newspaper, hosted the 2nd Lokmat Goan of the Year Awards 2017 in Panaji on September 7th 2017. Shri. Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister of Surface Transport & Ganga Rejuvenation was Chief Guest of the event. Also present was Shri. Manohar Parrikar Chief Minister of Goa, Mr. Vijay Darda, Chairman Lokmat Media and Mr. Devendra Darda, Managing Director Lokmat Media.

Awardees of Lokmat Goan of the Year 2017 ::

  1. Mr. Manohar Usgaonkar, Senior Advocate received Lifetime Achievement Award
  2. Mr. Manohar Parrikar, Chief Minister of Goa was honored as Lokmat’s Proficient People’s Leader Award/ Charismatic Leader of Masses
  3. Mr. Rohan Khaunte, Revenue Minister of Goa was honoured ‘Young Politician’ Award
  4. Mr. Blaise Costabir – Awarded in Industry category
  5. Mr. Vyankatesh Prabhudesai – Awarded in Education category
  6. Mr. Mahabaleshwar Sail – Awarded in Literature category
  7. Mr. Sushant Tari – Awarded in Art & Culture category
  8. Mr. Ajit Malkarnekar – Awarded in Agriculture category
  9. Mr. Prasad Lolayekar – Awarded in IAS officers category

Photo Gallery : 2017 | 2016